January ~ bamboo toothbrushes

20180129_215411_2 (1)

My mini sustainability achievement for January was a super easy one, but one I am really excited about! Bamboo toothbrushes for everyone!! It’s an awesome move for the environment, but I’ve also made it a new annual tradition, so that makes it even more awesome. I purchased a set of four Wowe bamboo toothbrushes for each member of the family and gifted them for the new year. (I might put them in stockings next year, but I ordered too late for that this year.)

I love it because when it’s time to switch out our toothbrushes (every three months) we’ll already have our next one ready to go and each brush has the number right on it. So far everyone likes the brushes, which was my biggest worry! The bristles are super soft and the adult ones are infused with charcoal for whitening.

Another huge win was that they didn’t come with any plastic packaging at all! I belong to several plastic-free and zero-waste Facebook groups and that seems to be the biggest complaint about buying any product, but especially bamboo toothbrushes, is that many brands come with plastic packaging from a clear plastic “window” in a cardboard box all the way to full-on plastic blister packaging. The Wowe toothbrushes are in a recycled paper/cardboard box and then each individual toothbrush is in a smaller box of the same material. Also, I purchased ours from Amazon and even Amazon didn’t include any plastic in that particular shipment (not always the case, but that’s another post altogether) so that was awesome!

Up front cost might be a prohibitive factor for some, but I paid under $50 for our toothbrush budget for the entire year which for four toothbrushes each for four people is less than $3 per toothbrush, and I can live with that for sure. Overall, I’m feeling great about this one and it was an easy one to do since it was just a simple product swap.

Now if anyone has ideas for zero-waste toothpaste, hit me up!! Right now we’re using Tom’s in a plastic tube, so I’d love something better!

Leave a Comment